Authors - Close up Bert Suurmeijer

Bert Suurmeijer PhD

Main author, is a former associate professor in the Surface Physics and Thin Film Group, Department of Applied Physics, Groningen University, NL. He lectured ‘Vacuum Physics and Technology’ for more than 25 years to master students applied physics and chemistry, and higher educated people with leading positions in vacuum related research institutes and industries. He was a member of the Dutch Vacuum Society (NEVAC) education committee for more than 40 years up to 2017 and chairman of this committee during several years in the 1990’s.

Authors - Close-up Theo MulderTheo Mulder BSc

Co-author, worked at the IKO (now: National Institute for Subatomic Physics or NIKHEF) in Amsterdam and was later employed as a sales engineer at Leybold, a leading German vacuum corporation, for 25 years. For many years he has delivered lecture courses on vacuum technology to middle and low graduates under the auspices of the Dutch Vacuum Society NEVAC as well as vacuum courses for high and middle graduates at the High Tech Institute, Eindhoven, NL. He is a member of the NEVAC education committee since 1988.

Authors - Close-up Jan VerhoevenJan Verhoeven PhD

Co-author, supervised several groups conducting vacuum-related research at the world-famous FOM institute AMOLF, Amsterdam, NL. Since 2007 he works as an independent consultant in the field of thin films and multilayer X-ray optics. Verhoeven is a visiting scientist at the Advanced Research Center for Nano Lithography (ARCNL). He lectured vacuum courses for middle and university graduates at the FOM institute for more than 20 years. In the 1980’s he was chairman of the education committee of the Dutch Vacuum Society NEVAC for several years.

All three authors are honorary members of the Dutch Vacuum Society NEVAC.